It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Understanding the rules on consecutive timeouts
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:14 am
Posts: 2259
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Understanding the rules on consecutive timeouts
Posted by Mike Florio on July 11, 2016, 12:35 PM EDT

With the NFL’s 2016 rule book published and the flow of the news fairly slow, I’ve been spending too much time making sense of the new provisions in this year’s version of the stuff on the inside of the cover of the board game. (Obviously, they’d need a much bigger box cover to hold the NFL’s rules.)

When it comes to the issue of a team taking a second timeout in the same dead-ball period, one specific change has been made. For situations other than an attempt to freeze a kicker, the erroneous granting of a second timeout in the same dead-ball period will result in a five-yard penalty. Generally, however, the officials are expected to decline to grant the second timeout, without a penalty.

In other words, a team isn’t penalized for trying to called a second time out in the same dead-ball period. The team is penalized only if it gets the second timeout.

The change was sparked by last year’s Seahawks-Cowboys game, in which Seattle was given a timeout to stop the clock and another timeout because it had too many men on the field. Seattle got both timeouts, but there was no penalty imposed.

The same approach applies if a team has no time outs left in a given half; the officials should not grant the request, but if they accidentally do, a five-yard penalty applies.

That’s different from the existing rule that applies when a team tries to freeze a kicker. In that case, a second timeout in the same dead-ball period triggers a 15-yard penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct — even if the timeout isn’t erroneously allowed.

The new rules also reiterate that only players in the game or a head coach may call a timeout. If, however, an assistant coach calls timeout and the request is erroneously granted, the timeout stands, without any penalty or other consequence.


http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2016/07/11/understanding-the-rules-on-consecutive-time-outs/

_________________
R S wrote:
I'm sure she still wakes up in cold sweats and night terrors of Peyton's wrinkly ball sack pitter-pattering on her forehead.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
FORUM RULES --- PRIVACY POLICY




Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group